Action Tools

This week we were asked to design an image using Contrast, Alignment, Repitition, and Proximity (CARP).  I used these action tools to create an image that would describe slope-intercept form.  This is the image I created:

slope intercept form-01

The following is the justification of my project.  Concepts and corresponding page numbers are from Creating Graphics for Learning and Performance by Linda L. Lohr.

Users

The users are high school students ages 14-15.  Most will have a basic reading level.  All of the students who took PreAlgebra in the school district have previous experience with the coordinate plane, including x- and y-axis.  Students have also learned about slope in a previous lesson.

Why I think my solution will work

This is my attempt at transforming slope-intercept form from an abstract idea to a visual image.  My hope is that when students see the slope-intercept form, they will see the clues that will help them create a graph.

Contrasting colors help to distinguish differences in the different elements (page 201).  I used orange when slope was mentioned and blue for the y-intercept.  This is also an example of repetition.  Repetition shows unity and implies relationship (page 203).  In the bottom-half of the image, the m and b are aligned with the side of the page with their description aligned to the immediate right.  This helps to show that they are related (page 201).  Visual images that are related are placed close to each other.  This is proximity (page 203).  The words next to the face look almost like speech bubbles.  Slope and y-intercept images are placed close together.

What I learned from a user-test

I asked my husband, again, to critique my image.  He had no suggestions for me!  He liked the visuals and the colors.  Needless-to-say, he was less than helpful.  Everyone else in my house is too young to offer meaningful feedback.  After copying this image, I noticed some color issues.  I wanted anything that was going to be explanation to be gray (or orange or blue) and in the informal font.  I noticed that some of the text in the informal font is in black.

Changes I will make based on the user-test

I will go back and fix the color issues.  I am also hoping that some of my classmates will have other feedback that will help me improve this image.

About tlpipes

This is a learning log I created as part of my EdTech coursework at Boise State University. I am currently enrolled in the Master's program so that I can learn more about available technologies and how to apply them in a classroom setting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment